Kamouraska was named by the Amerindian people who spoke the Algonquin language. It means where there are cattails. The first European pioneers settled down in Kamouraska around 1692 and developed the first municipal and religious centre. The region grew into the main city centre and eventually became the Lower St. Lawrence Region. Today, we can still see traces of its glorious past at the Berceau de Kamouraska where the ancestors of many founding families are buried. Its historical importance was recognized by the Quebec Historical Monuments Commission and the small park where the cemetery is located features many panels describing the history of the place. By 1813, Kamouraska was a well-known seaside resort and its many visitors made its reputation as Canada’s most popular retreat. In fact, the village of Kamouraska still figures among the most beautiful ones in Quebec.
The lovingly preserved historic architecture reveals the riches of the past and invites us to further discovery: stunning houses built years ago by prosperous merchants, its famous and beautiful lodges, its stunning farm houses such as the Lebel-Langlais House, the elegant residences, its Miller and Taché Wharf, the old court house (today the Kamouraska Art Center) and the old monastery (today the Kamouraska Regional Museum) all testify to the importance Kamouraska played in the growth of the region. Do not miss the heritage circuit with its promenade featuring panels with historical facts, the natural characteristics of Kamouraska and the famous inhabitants who influenced the development of the community. Today, the economy of the village is booming thanks to the dynamism of its agriculture and tourism. Producers, including many artisans, develop cutting-edge techniques and are experts in their respective fields. Food lovers will be pleased! It is not surprising that you will find a great variety of lodges, restaurants, art shops, cultural sites and the enjoyment of good food, making Kamouraska a most enjoyable destination and a sea of riches.